DIY Christmas Decorations

While I have my little tinsel tree in my window I wanted something to go on my desk but I couldn’t afford to get another little tree so I decided to find someway of creating a decoration for my room that was a lot more affordable. This is what I ended up with, P1020074

P1020073 P1020075This alternative tree cost £3 to make – I got the lights and baubles and snowflakes from the poundshop and that’s all I needed. What I did was use and old Amaretto bottle (we finished this at the weekend so it hadn’t been thrown away yet) I found a branch from the woods by our house. I really looked for one that was tree-like in its own way with a lot of little branches for the lights otherwise it would just look like lights wrapped around a stick. It’s then simply a case of wrapping your lights around the branches after putting them in the bottle. What I used for the baubles were just some green hooks that you get for putting decorations on christmas trees and we have these in abundance after decorating the trees downstairs.

You can also use artificial branches that you can find around this time of year in a lot of shops and I almost got some of them but I wanted the purple snowflakes more as I was doing this on a very tight budget. The best thing about this is that I found some really thick branches as well and even after christmas is over I can leave the lights on and just add my necklaces bracelets and rings to it and have a jewellery tree.

Leave a comment